Olivia Mackenzie

Advice · UK

How to get 24 days off using just 14 days of annual leave in 2018

Make the most of your holiday with this clever life hack.

There is a little-known trick to take advantage of on next year's calendar which will allow you get 24 days of annual leave in return for just 14.

This will only work if you don't work on weekends or bank holidays (sorry retail folk!). If that's you then you're all clear to disappear for almost a month in one go.

So how is it done? In 2018 there are two bank holidays in May: Monday May 7 and Monday May 28. Plan to leave work on Friday May 4 and you'll come back from your super break on May 29. 

From May 5 to May 28, you'll only need to use 14 days of precious annual leave to achieve it.

Here is the full breakdown list of how to make it work:

  • Friday, May 4: Last day of work
  • Saturday, May 5: Weekend
  • Sunday, May 6: Weekend
  • Monday, May 7: Bank holiday
  • Tuesday, May 8: Book off
  • Wednesday, May 9: Book off
  • Thursday, May 10: Book off
  • Friday, May 11: Book off
  • Saturday, May 12: Weekend
  • Sunday, May 13: Weekend
  • Monday, May 14: Book off
  • Tuesday, May 15: Book off
  • Wednesday, May 16: Book off
  • Thursday, May 17: Book off
  • Friday, May 18: Book off
  • Saturday, May 19: Weekend
  • Sunday, May 20: Weekend
  • Monday, May 21: Book off
  • Tuesday, May 22: Book off
  • Wednesday, May 23: Book off
  • Thursday, May 24: Book off
  • Friday, May 25: Book off
  • Saturday, May 26: Weekend
  • Sunday, May 27: Weekend
  • Monday, May 28: Bank holiday
  • Tuesday, May 29: Back to work

Get those holidays booked fast!